TRENDING Best Budget Drivers Best Putters for Beginners How to Hit Fairway Woods Best Cavity Back Irons Most Forgiving Irons Best Irons for High Handicappers Best Budget Golf Irons

Complete List of U.S. Open Golf Champions: 1895 - Present

Explore the complete list of US Open winners, from the first tournament in 1895 to the present day, and discover the legendary champions who have made history in this iconic golf tournament.

by Jake Tingey & Judd Lyon · Updated: 4/3/23

The US Open is one of the oldest and most prestigious golf tournaments in the world, featuring some of the greatest golfers in history. From legendary champions like Ben Hogan and Bobby Jones to modern-day stars like Tiger Woods and Brooks Koepka, the list of US Open winners is a who's who of golf history. In this webpage, we present a comprehensive table of every US Open champion, dating back to the tournament's inception.

List of US Open Winners (1895-Present)
2021Jon RahmSpainTorrey Pines Golf Course (South Course)
2020Bryson DeChambeauUnited StatesWinged Foot Golf Club (West Course)
2019Gary WoodlandUnited StatesPebble Beach Golf Links
2018Brooks KoepkaUnited StatesShinnecock Hills Golf Club
2017Brooks KoepkaUnited StatesErin Hills Golf Course
2016Dustin JohnsonUnited StatesOakmont Country Club
2015Jordan SpiethUnited StatesChambers Bay Golf Course
2014Martin KaymerGermanyPinehurst Resort (No. 2 Course)
2013Justin RoseEnglandMerion Golf Club (East Course)
2012Webb SimpsonUnited StatesThe Olympic Club (Lake Course)
2011Rory McIlroyNorthern IrelandCongressional Country Club (Blue Course)
2010Graeme McDowellNorthern IrelandPebble Beach Golf Links
2009Lucas GloverUnited StatesBethpage State Park (Black Course)
2008Tiger WoodsUnited StatesTorrey Pines Golf Course (South Course)
2007Angel CabreraArgentinaOakmont Country Club
2006Geoff OgilvyAustraliaWinged Foot Golf Club (West Course)
2005Michael CampbellNew ZealandPinehurst Resort (No. 2 Course)
2004Retief GoosenSouth AfricaShinnecock Hills Golf Club
2003Jim FurykUnited StatesOlympia Fields Country Club (North Course)
2002Tiger WoodsUnited StatesBethpage State Park (Black Course)
2001Retief GoosenSouth AfricaSouthern Hills Country Club
2000Tiger WoodsUnited StatesPebble Beach Golf Links
1999Payne StewartUnited StatesPinehurst Resort (No. 2 Course)
1998Lee JanzenUnited StatesOlympic Club (Lake Course)
1997Ernie ElsSouth AfricaCongressional Country Club (Blue Course)
1996Steve JonesUnited StatesOakland Hills Country Club (South Course)
1995Corey PavinUnited StatesShinnecock Hills Golf Club
1994Ernie ElsSouth AfricaOakmont Country Club
1993Lee JanzenUnited StatesBaltusrol Golf Club (Lower Course)
1992Tom KiteUnited StatesPebble Beach Golf Links
1991Payne StewartUnited StatesHazeltine National Golf Club
1990Hale IrwinUnited StatesMedinah Country Club (Course No. 3)
1989Curtis StrangeUnited StatesOak Hill Country Club (East Course
1988Curtis StrangeUSAThe Country Club
1987Scott SimpsonUSAOlympic Club
1986Ray FloydUSAShinnecock Hills Golf Club
1985Andy NorthUSAOakland Hills Country Club
1984Fuzzy ZoellerUSAWinged Foot Golf Club
1983Larry NelsonUSAOakmont Country Club
1982Tom WatsonUSAPebble Beach Golf Links
1981David GrahamAUSMerion Golf Club
1980Jack NicklausUSABaltusrol Golf Club
1979Hale IrwinUSAInverness Club
1978Andy NorthUSACherry Hills Country Club
1977Hubert GreenUSASouthern Hills Country Club
1976Jerry PateUSAAtlanta Athletic Club
1975Lou GrahamUSAMedinah Country Club
1974Hale IrwinUSAWinged Foot Golf Club
1973Johnny MillerUSAOakmont Country Club
1972Jack NicklausUSAPebble Beach Golf Links
1971Lee TrevinoUSAMerion Golf Club
1970Tony JacklinENGHazeltine National Golf Club
1969Orville MoodyUSAChampions Golf Club
1968Lee TrevinoUSAOak Hill Country Club
1967Jack NicklausUSABaltusrol Golf Club
1966Billy CasperUSAOlympic Club
1965Gary PlayerRSABellerive Country Club
1964Ken VenturiUSACongressional Country Club
1963Julius BorosUSAThe Country Club
1962Jack NicklausUSAOakmont Country Club
1961Gene LittlerUSAOakland Hills Country Club
1960Arnold PalmerUSACherry Hills Country Club
1959Billy CasperUSAWinged Foot Golf Club
1958Tommy BoltUSASouthern Hills Country Club
1957Dick MayerUSAInverness Club
1956Cary MiddlecoffUSAOak Hill Country Club
1955Jack FleckUSAThe Olympic Club
1954Ed FurgolUSABaltusrol Golf Club
1953Ben HoganUSAOakmont Country Club
1952Julius BorosUSANorthwood Club
1951Ben HoganUSAOakland Hills Country Club
1950Ben HoganUSAMerion Golf Club
1933 Johnny Goodman United States North Shore Country Club
1932 Gene Sarazen United States Fresh Meadow Country Club
1931 Billy Burke United States Inverness Club
1930 Bobby Jones United States Interlachen Country Club
1929 Bobby Jones United States Winged Foot Golf Club
1928 Johnny Farrell United States Olympic Club
1927 Tommy Armour Scotland Oakmont Country Club
1926 Bobby Jones United States Scioto Country Club
1925 Willie Macfarlane Scotland Worcester Country Club
1924 Cyril Walker England Oakmont Country Club
1923 Bobby Jones United States Inwood Country Club
1922 Gene Sarazen United States Skokie Country Club
1921 Jim Barnes England Columbia Country Club
1920 Ted Ray England Inverness Club
1919 Walter Hagen United States Brae Burn Country Club
1918 Walter Hagen United States Baltimore Country Club
1917 George Sargent England Chicago Golf Club
1916 Chick Evans United States Minikahda Club
1915 Jerome Travers United States Baltusrol Golf Club
1914 Walter Hagen United States Midlothian Country Club
1913 Francis Ouimet United States The Country Club
1912 John McDermott United States Country Club of Buffalo
1911 John McDermott United States Chicago Golf Club
1910 Alex Smith Scotland Philadelphia Cricket Club
1909 George Sargent England Englewood Golf Club
1908 Fred McLeod Scotland Myopia Hunt Club
1907 Alex Ross Scotland Philadelphia Cricket Club
1906 Alex Smith Scotland Onwentsia Club
1906 Alex Smith Scotland Onwentsia Club
1905 Willie Anderson Scotland Myopia Hunt Club
1904 Willie Anderson Scotland Glen View Club
1903 Willie Anderson Scotland Baltusrol Golf Club
1902 Laurie Auchterlonie Scotland Garden City Golf Club
1901 Willie Anderson Scotland Myopia Hunt Club
1900 Harry Vardon England Chicago Golf Club
1899 Willie Smith Scotland Baltimore Country Club
1898 Fred Herd Scotland Myopia Hunt Club
1897 Joe Lloyd England Chicago Golf Club
1896 James Foulis Scotland Shinnecock Hills Golf Club
1895 Horace Rawlins England Newport Country Club

US Open Winners: Did You Know?

More about The Major Golf Championships you might also like: